10/28/16Orange Tower Honors Distinguished Alumni


The UT Austin Tower will shine with burnt-orange lights Friday, October 28 in honor of this year’s distinguished alumni.

Presented by the Texas Exes, the Distinguished Alumnus Awards are granted annually to alumni who have distinguished themselves professionally and through service to the university.

This year’s recipients include a governor, a journalist, a choreographer and others. They are:

  • Governor Greg Abbott, BBA ’81, Life Member, the 48th governor of Texas;
  • The Honorable Preston “Pete” Geren, BA ’75, JD ’78, Life Member, president and chief executive officer of the Sid W. Richardson Foundation and former U.S. Secretary of the Army;
  • Woody L. Hunt, BBA ’66, MBA ’70, Life Member, executive chairman of the board of directors of Hunt Companies, Inc.;
  • Arthel Neville, BJ ’86, Life Member, weekend anchor for FOX News;
  • Bobby Stillwell, BBA ’59, LLB ’61, Life Member, retired partner of the Houston law firm Baker Botts and a former UT System regent; and,
  • Septime Webre, BA ’84, an international ballet choreographer, artistic director of the S & R Foundation/Halcyon Stage, and former artistic director of both The Washington Ballet (1999-2016) and the American Repertory Ballet (1993-99).

You can watch the Distinguished Alumnus Awards on Longhorn Network tonight at 7 CT.

Congratulations — and hook ’em — to this year’s recipients!

Read more about the Distinguished Alumnus Awards and this year’s recipients.

Want to know when and why the Tower is orange? Sign up for our email alerts, and we’ll send you an update each time we light the Tower. Share your photos of the #UTTower on InstagramTwitter and Facebook.