The UT Tower will shine with burnt orange lights Sunday, April 24 in honor of the Women’s Golf and Women’s Tennis teams, both of which claimed Big 12 titles that same day.

The Women's Golf team poses for a picture while celebrating their Big 12 title.

For the fourth time in the last five Big 12 Championships, the No. 13 Texas Women’s Golf squad won the conference title. The Longhorns took the team lead in round two on Saturday and never relinquished it, shooting a 54-hole score of 24-over-par 876 (291-287-298) over three days at The Clubs at Houston Oaks to claim the Big 12 crown. The team victory was the first of the season for UT as they held off No. 6 Oklahoma State and No. 15 Baylor on Sunday by finishing the final day with a 14-over-par 298. Freshman Bohyun Park led the Longhorns, tying for third place with a four-over-par 217 (72-70-75) in her first career Big 12 Championship. Senior Sara Kouskova was sixth at five-over-par 218 (71-74-73), while sophomore Bentley Cotton was tied for 11th at nine-over-par 222 (74-71-77). Park and Kouskova both earned Big 12 All-Tournament Team honors.

“I’m proud of this team. This was a long time coming and they deserve it,” said Head Coach Ryan Murphy. “They have worked hard through the season and maintained their focus to be ready for this championship. It was truly a team effort with contributions from each player, and we needed every bit of it.”

The Women's Tennis team poses for a picture to celebrate their Big 12 title.

The No. 4 University of Texas Women’s Tennis team (20-4) earned a 4-2 victory against No. 2 Oklahoma (27-2) in the Big 12 Championship final on Sunday afternoon at the Friedman Tennis Center. The Longhorns won the doubles point and collected straight-set singles wins from sophomores Peyton Stearns, Charlotte Chavatipon and Kylie Collins to record their 14th victory against a nationally-ranked opponent this spring.

Texas has now captured the Big 12 Tournament crown a total of 12 times (1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2012, 2013, 2018, 2021 and 2022), with the last three coming under current head coach Howard Joffe. The Longhorns have amassed a total of 21 conference tournament titles in school history, as UT previously claimed nine Southwest Conference tourney crowns (1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995 and 1996).