The U.T. Tower shines with burnt-orange lights

The UT Tower will shine with burnt orange lights Tuesday, April 9 in honor of this year’s recipients of the President’s Research Impact Award.

Established in 2023 to recognize faculty and researchers whose scholarly or creative endeavors invigorate knowledge, challenge perceptions and change lives, the President’s Research Impact Award is coordinated by the Office of the Vice President for Research, Scholarship and Creative Endeavors.

This year’s recipients are Stephen Vladeck, who is the Charles Alan Wright Chair in Federal Courts at the University of Texas School of Law, and Clint Dawson, who is the John J. McKetta Centennial Energy Chair in Engineering at the Cockrell School of Engineering and director of the Computational Hydraulics Group in the Oden Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences. Vladeck is a nationally recognized expert on the federal courts, constitutional law, national security law and military justice. Dawson is a leading expert in the areas of numerical analysis, numerical methods and parallel computing.

Recipients of the President’s Research Impact Award are honored with a $10,000 prize and medal, as well as a short video documentary about their work’s impact and recognition at the annual President’s Research Impact Award ceremony. Research may be rooted in any discipline and benefit the public on a local, national or global scale.