UT tower shines orange

The University of Texas at Austin Tower will glow orange on Friday, Nov. 6, 2015, to honor the six recipients of this year’s Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Presented each fall, the Distinguished Alumnus Award is the Texas Exes’ highest honor for outstanding UT Austin graduates. Since the award was created in 1958, recipients have ranged from author John Coetzee and surgeon Denton Cooley to former first lady Laura Bush and actor Eli Wallach. The latest round of awardees includes a cancer researcher, a filmmaker, a civic leader, an energy attorney, an astronaut and a business leader.

You can visit the Alcalde to learn more about this impressive group of individuals, listed below:

  • James Allison, B.A. ’69, Ph.D ’73
  • Dan Burck, BBA ’56
  • James C. Langdon, Jr., BBA ’67, J.D. ’70
  • Robert Rodriguez, B.S. ’08
  • Judy Tate, B.S. ’73
  • Stephanie Wilson, M.S. ’92

These outstanding alumni will also be honored at an award ceremony on November 6 at the LBJ Presidential Library Auditorium.

[Use #UTTower to share your Tower lighting pictures on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.]